Ipsy Glam Bag – May 2016

Hi, Pixies!

After really enjoying my first experience with Ipsy’s Glam Bags (click here to see what I got and to read my April review), I decided to continue my membership for another month 🙂

I received my May Glam Bag about a month ago, and I’m really sorry for the delayed post, but I wanted to try each product multiple times for a more thorough review:

ipsy_May 2016

May 2016: Destination Chic

First Impressions:

Yet again, I was pleasantly surprised by the variety of items I received in my Glam Bag! I received 1 eye shadow trio, 1 eye shadow brush, 1 mascara, 1 container of face cream, and 3 envelopes of sheet masks! It was like I got 9 items instead of 5! Total score this month! 😀

After trying everything in my last Glam Bag, I did go back and retake the preference quiz to customize my experience even more. I also reviewed all the products sent to me on Ipsy’s website, because they take all my ratings into account when it’s time to select items for my next Glam Bag ❤

 


 

Here are the items I received + reviews:

 

Glam Bag_May 2016

Destination Chic Makeup Bag – I LOVE THIS MAKEUP BAG!!! ❤ Unlike last month’s bag, this one is made with a slick, water-resistant material on the outside AND inside that’s super easy to clean. It’s a lovely shade of orchid purple with white silhouettes of global landmarks and travel icons. The images remind me of the World Showcase in Walt Disney World, so that automatically made it my new favorite makeup bag 😉

Bag Rating: ★★★★★
Use or Lose?: Use!!!

 


 

Face Cream

Clark’s Botanicals: Smoothing Marine Cream – This moisturizer is a best-seller from Clark’s botanically-based luxury skin care line. The website claims that this product gently exfoliates and intensely hydrates stressed or dry skin, leaving your face baby-soft, balanced, and moisturized.

There’s a reason why this cream is so crazy expensive – it really works! 😮 My skin felt very smooth, soft, and hydrated ALL DAY after using. However, the first time I tried this moisturizer, I applied it to my entire face (as directed) and my cheeks and nose felt like they were burning! This product contains a good amount of glycolic acid and some alcohols, so I should have been more careful and patch-tested it first (lesson learned). I bravely tried it again the following day but avoided my cheeks and nose area, and it didn’t burn at all where it was applied – maybe a little tingling but nothing painful or irritating. Also, this product never caused my sensitive skin to breakout, so I believe it would work for all skin types 🙂

Weight: 15 ml (received a little over a third-size sample)
Price: $115 from Clark’s Botanical’s website for full-size (50 ml)
Moisturizer Rating: ★★★★★
Use or Lose?: Use, but avoid very sensitive areas
Buy Again?: If it was WAY cheaper, I would definitely buy it and use it often

 


 

Eye Shadow

Pacifica: Natural Mineral Coconut Eye Shadow Trio – I had heard of this brand before and had always wanted to try their makeup and skin care products since they’re all-natural, 100% vegan, cruelty-free, and a portion of all their profits go towards supporting clean water efforts 🙂

This eye shadow case included three glitzy pinky-brown shades called Crush (beige), Skinny Dip (copper), and Lovely (brown). The shadows were very smooth and richly pigmented, so they applied easily and lasted all day. I have been using all three shadows together for a natural yet enhancing everyday look. The colors also make my eye color stand out, so I get many compliments when I wear these shadows 😉

Weight: 0.07 oz (nearly 2/3 of a full-size)
Retail Price: $9.99 from Target’s website for full-size (0.10 oz)
Eye Shadow Rating: ★★★★★
Use or Lose?: Use 😀
Buy Again?: Definitely! Especially since I can purchase this brand at my local Target 🙂

 


 

Brush

INSPR Beauty: Eye Fluff Brush – Remember last month when I received an eye shadow blending brush and said I wished it was a little smaller since it spread shadow a tad more than I would prefer? Well, ask Ipsy and you will receive!!! 😀

This eye fluff brush is the perfect size for me and is very tapered at the top, so I have more control over where my shadows go and blending is basically effortless. I literally have been using this brush everyday since I received it and have not gone back to my other eye shadow brushes – it’s that good 😉

Weight: Unknown, but full-sized
Price: $12.00 from INSPR Beauty’s website
Brush Rating: ★★★★★
Use or Lose?: Use 😀
Buy Again?: Definitely!

 


 

Mascara

Smashbox Cosmetics: X-Rated Mascara – According to Ipsy, this mascara brush isolates and magnifies each lash while applying its fiber-loaded formula, resulting in “sky-high and defined lashes in just one swipe”. Ipsy also claims the formula is flake-free and smudge-proof.

I have been so eager to try ANYTHING from Smashbox, because their products are what professionals use on celebrities for a picture-perfect look 😉 I was initially disappointed that this wasn’t a waterproof formula since I wear contacts and have allergies, but I have found that once this mascara dries, it doesn’t budge! As promised, the formula didn’t flake, clump, or smudge, and it felt lightweight on my lashes.

My only issue with this mascara was the wand. The brush is full-sized but the wand is like 1/3 of the size of a regular wand, so it’s very difficult to apply without getting the product on your skin. Removing it is fairly easy, but I find it very irritating that I always have to “clean up” after using this product, so I never take it with me when I leave the house. I’m guessing if I purchased the full-size version, this would no longer be an issue, but I’m reviewing what I received, so I wish Smashbox would redesign these smaller versions :-/

Weight: Unknown, but it’s mini
Price: $22.00 from Smashbox’s website for full-size tube (0.3 oz)
Mascara Rating: ★★★★☆
Use or Lose?: Use 🙂
Buy Again?: Possibly, but it would have to be mega on-sale

 


 

Sheet Masks

SOO AE: 3 Collagen Essence Sheet Mask Set – According to Ipsy, these 3 sheet masks (Collagen, Brightening, and Propolis) are specially formulated for “amazing firming and brightening effects to revitalize tired or stressed-out skin”.

I haven’t used a sheet mask before, but they’re quickly becoming one of the hottest skin care products around, because they’re super easy to use and require little clean-up compared to traditional face masks. Because my skin is sensitive, I’m always very cautious before I use anything on my face, but after reading some positive reviews, I decided to take the plunge and try the Collagen mask since it sounded like the most basic of the 3 (and had the least amount of ingredients).

The sheet mask was basically like a paper towel completely saturated in a clear, gel-like substance. It already had cut-outs for my eyes, nose, and mouth, so I just unfolded it, pressed it onto my face, and read a book for 15 minutes while it worked its “magic”. I then pulled off the mask and rubbed in the excess gel (as directed), but I ended up washing my face after the gel dried, because it felt like a thick layer of powdery residue was suffocating my face. My skin did feel softer, but it also caused me to breakout a little, so no more sheet masks for me 😦

Weight: 0.85 fl. oz. (full-size)
Price: $15.00 from Target’s website for 5-count package ($3 each)
Sheet Mask Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Use or Lose?: Lose – I’ll give the other two away as gifts to friends who like masks
Buy Again?: No

 


 

Overall Glam Bag Review:

For the total fee of $10.00, I thought my purchase was VERY reasonably priced since I received a total of 6 items (if you include the makeup bag). That works out to about $1.67 per item – and that’s not even including Ipsy’s expense for the bubble-lined packaging envelope and shipping! Plus, you can easily unsubscribe from the monthly Glam Bag at any time, so if funds are tight or you don’t like what you’re receiving, you can cancel the subscription from your account within seconds.

The items I received were 100% customized to my preferences (which can easily be changed by retaking the quiz), and I didn’t hate anything I received, so my overall Ipsy experience was very good! I highly recommend this beauty subscription to anyone who loves trying new makeup and beauty products 😀

If you have any questions about Ipsy or the items I reviewed, please leave me a comment below ↓

♥ Marigold

 


 

P.S. If you are interested in buying any of the products I reviewed, I have some discount codes you can use if purchasing from the brands’ main websites:

Pacifica Beauty
Shop Here: www.pacificabeauty.com
Use code: Ipsy2016 for 20% off purchase
Offer valid through 06/30/2016. Offer valid in US and Canada only. Cannot be combined with any other offers.

INSPR Beauty
Shop Here: www.insprbeauty.com
Use code: IPSY2016 for 50% off purchase
Offer valid through 06/30/2016. Offer valid in US only. Cannot be combined with any other offers.

Smashbox Cosmetics
Shop Here: www.smashbox.com
Use code: IPSY15 for 15% off your first purchase
Offer valid through 6/30/2016. Offer valid for your first order. Quantities are limited. One per customer.

 


 

If you enjoyed this post, simply go to the sidebar and click to follow “Marigold’s Musings” to be notified when I post my next Ipsy review 🙂

Also, if you decide to subscribe to Ipsy, please click here to use my referral code ❤

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. I just love seeing your Ipsy bag reviews! Keep up the great posts. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Natalie on June 16, 2016 at 5:39 pm

    Great post! It looks like you got some pretty great products! I hope to receive an eyeshadow trio from Ipsy sometime! Yes, the bag really does remind me of the World Showcase! Speaking of Disney World, did you hear of the little boy who was dragged out to the water by an alligator?😞 It’s so, so, so sad and sickening! I had some people of my family go there a few months ago, and their little ones put there feet near that water like the little boy who passed away did.

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

