Autumn Equinox

Happy Autumn Equinox, Pixies! 😀

leaves_1
I dusted off my favorite boots and dug out my Fall staples (a cute dress and ruffle-detailed duster) to wear today:

ms_fall_1
My go-to outfits this season are all about layering for the varying temps. A simple dress or skirt paired with a long cardigan, vest, duster, poncho, wrap, or jacket is always a winning combo. Throw on some cute boots and your outfit will instantly scream, “IT’S FALL!” 😀

This quote perfectly explains my love for this season:

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.
– Albert Camus

leaves_3
The brilliantly colored leaves always remind me of flower petals, so you can imagine my delight when the leaves start changing and blanket the ground like garden in full bloom. Gorgeous! ❤

So what is the Autumn Equinox? According to National Geographic, it arrived today at exactly 10:21 a.m. ET (2:20 p.m. UTC), officially marking the beginning of fall in the Northern Hemisphere and the start of spring in the Southern Hemisphere. The word “equinox” comes from Latin and means “equal night,” referring to the roughly 12-hour day and night that occurs only on the two equinox days of the year. Cool, huh? 😉

♫ These are a few of my favorite things ♪ about Fall, in no particular order:

Three words: Frozen. Apple. Cider.
(Best slushy ever!)

Hand picking apples and pumpkins at the orchard

Relaxing around a blazing bonfire and roasting marshmallows

Walking the trails in the woods when the leaves are changing

Sipping a Chai Tea Latte from an oversized mug

Baking Pumpkin Pies made from fresh pumpkins
(One bite, and you’ll never go back to canned pumpkin!)

Adding cinnamon, apple pie spice, or pumpkin pie spice to nearly everything

Planting sleeping flower bulbs and hoping they’ll awaken in Spring

What are your favorite things about Autumn? Let me know in a comment below ↓

Faith, Trust & Cinnamon Dust 😉
♥ Marigold

 

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Snowflake Fancypuff on September 22, 2016 at 3:44 pm

    Gorgeous post, Marigold!
    I love the pictures of Autumn you chose as well as your fairy’s lovely, practical, and fashionable Fall outfit!
    My favorite part of Autumn is definitely seeing the red, orange, and yellow blankets of leaves on the ground – tousling them lightly with my feet as I walk through (because I don’t want to squash any of them), or making a big pile of leaves and jumping right in!
    Of course, Autumn and Winter are also the best seasons for baking! ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • Posted by Snowflake Fancypuff on September 22, 2016 at 4:24 pm

      I forgot to ask…do you have any recommendations of sleepy flower bulbs? I’m new to gardening and I would love to plant some this fall/winter. 🙂

      Reply

      • Oh, my goodness! You should definitely plant some flower bulbs this Fall! 😀 It’s fun to plan out a design, and the results are often well worth the wait 😉
        I have MANY favorites (as I’m sure you guessed), but here are my top 3:
        1. Toronto Greigii Tulips – Planting any tulip bulb is a good idea, but this variety is gorgeous in color (a coral pink), and they split and multiply each year on their own! They’re shorter than regular tulips, so you should plant them closer to the front of your flower bed. Here’s a link to see pictures: https://www.longfield-gardens.com/plantname/Tulip-Toronto
        2. Grape Hyacinth – These dainty, deep blue-purple beauties will effortlessly compliment all the flowers in your garden! They’re short (6 to 8 inches), so you can plant them in the very front as a border or mix them with other short flowers.
        3. Daffodils – Although simple and delicate, these flowers will most likely bloom first in your garden this Spring. Nothing makes me happier than after a long, snowy Winter to see the happy, yellow blooms peeking out 🙂 Daffodil “grass” (the leaves) is also very pretty once the blooms are gone.
        Please let me know what you decide to plant! 😀

        Reply

    • Thank you so much, Snowpuff! ❤
      The cooler weather definitely puts me in the mood for baking 😀 (not that the temps are cooperating yet – it's been in the mid-80's here)
      My family has tons of apples left from our trip to the orchard last weekend, so we're making a big batch of homemade applesauce and apple butter this weekend. Yum!

      Reply

      • Posted by Snowflake Fancypuff on September 23, 2016 at 12:04 pm

        ooo homemade batches of applesauce and apple butter sound so good! I baked a spiced banana nut bread for my friend who is a chef, yesterday. He was so happy! He’s such a hardworking and jolly person. Today I’m planning to make pumpkin bread 🙂
        It has been in the mid 80’s here, too! I’m looking forward to it cooling down soon.

        Reply

  2. Well, what I like the most is how this season’s colors make it look so magical. Even spring doesn’t look as magical as this season does. I love the golden yellow, the Fawn orange and the Rosetta Red leaves all around the cities/lands and I love the sounds they make when you step on them when they’re really dry.

    Also another thing I love from this season – PUMPKINS.
    I literally love what you can do with the huge orange pumpkins – my grandma makes an amazing cookie – cake thing and its so sweet she adds sugar to it and it’s so amazing to eat.

    Also another thing I love is that it’s the season of the spookiness. It’s Halloween! I love seeing you all celebrate even though I don’t because where I’m from we don’t have that holiday – but I do love to put masks on my fairies every year and join you all. I wish we celebrated it though because I’d be awesome at trick or treating – so many candies to get yum!

    I also love all the clothes and styles people come up with for this season. Rain boots, cute umbrellas and nice rain coats. I’ve always been a sucker for cute to be honest xD

    I’d usually wear something like a T-shirt and a sweater with a zipper or a light leather jacket and sneakers which are waterproof ( Walkmaxx if you’ve heard ) and a pair of long pants.

    As for my fairies I keep changing their outfits but I keep them with their talent colors on mixed with others that play well with them and of course the autumn in the outfits is visible with stylish lights scarfs, boots, sneakers and bonnet hats. I also like outfits with skirts that are kinda longer than the usual skirts you’d think of and are just right for this season.

    ____________________

    Now I wanna thank you for this lovely post and for reminding me I have to wish everyone a happy autumn on my blog xD

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

