Events Announcement

Hi Pixies,

I’ve been dreading publishing this post…but the announcement has to be made…

As head and founder of the Pixie Hollow Events Committee, I’m very sorry to announce that a 2017 Events Committee has not been formed and no Pixie Hollow events have been planned for this year.

Before everyone freaks out, let me explain.

Organizing an events committee and creating Pixie Hollow-themed events was my way to build morale and bring pixies back together after Pixie Hollow closed. It was a TON of work, but the events were very popular in the beginning, so it was gratifying to see so many pixies getting excited and coming together to celebrate again ❤

However, participation significantly declined over the years. The committee members and I felt very frustrated and discouraged, because we were putting in countless hours of our time and effort to, in the end, only have a handful of pixies willing/able to participate…I kept trying to figure out what was wrong with the events and why they weren’t as popular as before, and it finally hit me during our last event: Blog-hosted Pixie Hollow events had simply run their course.

Now that the FairyABC site seems more stable and is regularly being updated, more pixies are understandably looking for events to attend there rather than on a blog. I can’t compete with that nor do I want to. FairyABC is the closet replica to Pixie Hollow we have now, so I want to help be a part of something that’s bringing pixies together again rather than pulling them apart when they can’t be two places at once :-/

So, instead of hosting full-blown events on my blog, I will keep the spirit of Pixie Hollow events alive by continuing to occasionally host contests, Fashion Fairs, and possibly the changing of the seasons and holiday announcements/celebrations. Just because there’s no official “events committee” this year doesn’t mean we can’t call upon one another for help when we’re tying to host a contest, celebration, etc. There are so many pixies out there with incredible ideas and amazing talents that we should always come together as a community to help present the best work that we can 🙂

I would love to know your thoughts on this. Please leave me a comment below ↓

Thank you for reading,
♥ Marigold

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Snowflake Fancypuff on February 3, 2017 at 4:15 pm

    Hi Marigold,

    I think your decision to host smaller events rather than large-scale ones is a wonderful idea. I agree that it seems large-scale blog events have simply run their course, which is sad, but it is what it is. Unfortunately for me I’m a new pixie blogger so I don’t remember any of the fantastic events you and the Committee held in past years. I greatly admire your dedication to the pixie blogging community and to the spirit of Pixie Hollow. If there is ever anything you need, any help with planning an event, coming up with ideas, etc., I would love to help and play a part 😊 I plan to always be active in this community 💕 🌈

    Reply

  2. Hi Mari I completely understand you doing this. I have only been a part of one PHEC event – last year’s Pixie Hollow Games – and from that I could see not so many participants actually participated. I’m sorry of course but I also look forward to seeing you more on FairyABC and here as well and I will try to keep my blog a fun place to visit as well. I’m still trying to figure out what kind of things to do on my blog too just to keep everyone interested and to keep the community’s spirit present. Looking forward to everything you’ve mentioned! 💕

    Reply

  3. I totally understand why you have decided to stop doing such large-scale events. I am however, really glad you’re going to keep on doing smaller events! As a former comittee member, I’m happy to help out if you need anything. 😉

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

