Club Penguin is Closing

Hi Pixies,

Disney has officially announced that they’ve decided to discontinue the current Club Penguin online game on March 29, 2017:

cp_2017

 

I have never played Club Penguin (especially after Disney told me to just “waddle on over” to Club Penguin after they closed Pixie Hollow 😡  ), but I was surprised to see this announcement since it’s supposedly Disney’s #1 Virtual World for Kids…

However, after a little more research into this closure, I discovered that Disney is actually releasing a 3D version of the game for mobile devices called Club Penguin Island:

 
According to the new Club Penguin Island website, this mobile version will release sometime in March 2017, so they’re already allowing pre-registration so you can reserve your new penguin’s name…

Why Disney couldn’t have done this with Pixie Hollow still infuriates me, but at least the members of Club Penguin aren’t losing their beloved home entirely :-/

Thoughts? Comments? Let me know below ↓

Thanks for reading,
♥ Marigold

 

13 responses to this post.

  1. It is sad news for me because I was a player of Club Penguin from 2008, (although I completely stopped visiting 2011) so it will always remain a memory. 🙂 But this did not affect me like it did with Pixie Hollow! 😡

    Reply

  2. Posted by Megahartz on February 12, 2017 at 4:01 am

    This is horrible, I played on CP all the time when I was younger. R.I.P virtual worlds.

    Reply

  3. At first I thought ‘YASSSS REVENGE IS OURS’ but after a while I realised that all those CP users are now going through the same experience we did…

    Reply

    • IKR!!! I was totally like, “HA!!! In your face, Disney!!! See, you made a really BAD decision to keep CP instead of PH!!!” But then I saw all the sad posts and comments from upset CP players and felt awful 😦 On the bright side, at least CP fans are getting a new 3D version of the game, but I’m guessing it won’t be quite the same… :-/

      Reply

  4. Yeah well…It is sad and i feel sad for all those who’ve played for years much like us with Pixie Hollow but will I miss it? Nope. However there’s tons of remakes of it Virtual Penguin and then another one that ends with ‘me’ and they’re both all free so it’s not a total loss. I tried the Virtual Penguin one it’s quite good actually.

    Reply

    • Yes, CPPS.me? It absolutely amazing aside the atrocious members of the remake, I’d give the staff a 10/10 because I know it’s something that I will always have to physically substitute CP.

      Reply

  5. Ugh. I am so upset…. I made a lot of progress on CP and now I’m losing it all?! … 😥
    I can’t even get the app anyway…. 😛

    Reply

  6. I’ve been a player on CP since 2013 and and I’m honestly really sad to see the Club Penguin I know disappear. Although, as much as it hurts to see it go, I’m not really bothered by the fact that being discontinued. My theory is that more kids are getting social media, Musical.ly is the new thing and kids aren’t into these games as much as we were anymore. From kids getting cell phones – new technology, the game’s popularity is probably going down. I don’t think this had to do with money, but more than half of the servers were dead. Now, I know how to deal with this especially since I have dealt with PH closing as well as Bearville closing, so I know that there will always be something to replace the game physically but not mentally.

    Reply

Please Leave a Reply

