The Original Disney Fairies Website

If you love the original Disney Fairies books and Pixie Hollow, what I’m about to share with  you is going to BLOW YOUR MIND!  😀

Introduction to the Original Disney Fairies Website

 

A Breathtaking View of the Heart of Pixie Hollow

 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 

Book

One of my favorite authors is the amazingly talented Gail Carson Levine. She wrote Ella EnchantedThe Two Princesses of Bamarre, The Fairy’s Return and Other Princess Tales, and many more wonderfully written books that I couldn’t put down  🙂 

What you may not have known is that she also wrote Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg – the very first book to explain the world of fairies (a.k.a. Pixie Hollow)!!! Gail said on her website, “This is the volume that launched a thousand books in the Disney Fairies series.” Pretty awesome!  😉 

Gail’s favorite book as a child was Peter Pan by James M. Barrie. “As I read it, I fell in love with Peter. I decided Wendy was an idiot for leaving him, and I wished I could jump inside the book to make things right. So I was delighted to get the chance to go to Never Land on my own. I didn’t travel there to marry Peter. My job was to invent the island’s fairies (other than Tinker Bell), to expand Tink’s character, and to figure out where and how the fairies lived. Most of all, I hoped to come upon the source of the magic that prevents everyone on Never Land from growing old. I discovered that fairies can’t fly with wet wings and that their wings never hurt, no matter what befalls them.”

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Here’s a little timeline for you to follow as I reveal the BIG NEWS:

Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg was published and released on September 21, 2005.

– Just a couple of weeks later on October 4, 2005, the Disney Fairies website was launched to promote the book and give readers the ability to create a fairy, meet the famous fairies from the book, visit Pixie Hollow, and some other fun features:

Original Disney Fairies Homepage

 
– Almost a year later, the Pixie Hollow online virtual world was released in September 2006, and the website was completed redone (to how we remember it):

A screenshot of the Disney Fairies website until it closed in September 2013.

 

Awesome, right? Well here’s the even better news: The original Disney Fairies website and all of its contents were “internet archived” once the new site took its place, but a few forum fairies found some links in the archive that STILL WORK – so you can view and interact in the original site!!!  😮

Sadly, you can’t create a fairy, but you can do a bunch of other cool things!  🙂

Click on the following images below to experience the original magic of Disney Fairies:

Meet: Bess, Fira, Tinker Bell, Lily, Beck, Prilla, Rani, and Vidia!

 

5 Original Books in the Disney Fairies Collection

 

Games: Sundown Countdown and Fairy Dust Crossword

 

Extras: Wallpapers & Screensavers

 

Get ready to freak out….take a Personalized Guided Tour of Pixie Hollow!!!!!!!!!!!

Just enter your name at the bottom (where the red circle is) and click the NEXT button to get a guided tour of Pixie Hollow by Tinker Bell!!!!

 

Now, you should know that this tour (along with the website) has some glitches and “pages not found” when you click on certain things, because the website was completely redesigned so there were a lot of loose ends that never got tied up, but it’s still pretty awesome  🙂

 

Tour – Explanation of Fairy Talents

 

What’s your favorite part about the original website? I would love to know! Leave me a comment below  😀

♥Marigold

 

36 thoughts on “The Original Disney Fairies Website

  1. Sarah Diamondswirls says:

    This sounds really exciting, Marigold! You made my day better, thanks for that! :’D
    I would like to show you something I found.
    http://www.disney.ru/fairies/best-official-art-certificate.html
    Go to this link, and you will find a site which looks exactly like the new Disney Fairies site, which we knew. We can watch videos and even play games. What’s more, the site is officially owned by Disney. It even has a play button, but it doesn’t work. The other buttons do work, though.This is in return for you, as you made my day! 😀

    • Marigold Sunjewel says:

      Well, it was a hint for things to come once the new Disney Fairies website launched in 2006. I wonder what it would have been like to create a fairy on the original 2005 website, though…

  2. aolexrulz says:

    I love those books! At my school, we got free books and I picked up a graphic novel of Prinna’s Talent. A teacher asked what book I chose and I showed her, and she said it was to easy for me. I said that it was on the fifth grade table, all of those are to easy for me, but I was thinking, I can still read it even if it’s too easy.

  3. Minerva Grace says:

    Oh my gosh! Yay! I remember reading that book by Gail Carson Levine a while back (I love her!) but I didn’t know about the site. Thanks for letting us know, Marigold! 😀

Please Leave a Reply